What was the d-day invasion?

The Normandy Invasion, also called Operation Overlord, during World War II, the Allied invasion of western Europe, which was launched on June 6, 1944, with the simultaneous landing of U.S., British, and Canadian forces on five separate beachheads in Normandy, France.