What is potassium benzoyl?

Benzyl potassium is an organopotassium compound with the formula C₆H₅CH₂K. It is an orange powder. Like organo-alkali metal reagents in general, benzyl potassium is highly reactive, so much so that it reacts with most solvents. It is highly air sensitive.