Why do dogs fight cats?

Because cats and dogs are different species and aren't usually friends in nature. Dogs in the wild see cats as prey, and cats see dogs as a threat. This isn't a choice, it's hardwired into their brains. If they meet each other when they're young, they can learn to interact peacefully.