How do i season a cast iron griddle?

Scrub the griddle well with hot soapy water and dry thoroughly. Spread a thin layer of shortening or vegetable oil all over the griddle. Place upside down on the middle rack of your oven and bake at 375 degrees for 1 hour - place a cookie tin or layer of foil beneath the griddle to catch drips.