Who created the republican elephant symbol?

An image of an elephant was shown as a Republican symbol in a political cartoon and a newspaper illustration during the Civil War but the pachyderm took hold a GOP symbol after Thomas Nast, who’s considered the father of the modern political cartoon, used it in an 1874 Harper’s Weekly cartoon.