How do you plant a pine cone?

Lay closed cones in an open box at room temperature. When dry, the cones will open and release seeds. To germinate, mix the seeds with moist peat or sand, and refrigerate them for three to seven weeks. Sow the seeds in 3-inch pots, and provide bottom heat of about 60 degrees.