Is acid dangerous?

Not all acids are dangerous. Some like lemon juice and vinegar are found in most homes and are frequently used in cooking. Others like hydrochloric acid can be dangerous if misused.

---

Not all acids are dangerous. We use the pH scale to give us a relative scale of physical hazard to that of water. Depending on the pH and concentration of the acid, it may not cause burns (like lemon juice). Acids can also fume so care should be taken to make sure they are vented properly.