How do you shock someone with static electricity?

Static electricity can be generated by rubbing two dissimilar materials together. If you have a wool rug you can wear nylon socks and shuffle your feet as you cross the rug. If you extend your finger to someone else a static electric spark will jump from your finger to that person.