Why does aluminum foil not get hot?

Actually, aluminum foil does get hot, but since it is so thin, and an excellent thermal conductor, it radiates away its heat so rapidly that it cools off quickly. Thin foil can't hold much "heat," so when you touch it not much heat can transfer to your fingers so it doesn't feel particularly warm.