Is there such thing as a blackberry tree?

No. Blackberries are the edible fruit produced by many species in the genus Rubus in the family Rosaceae. They are perennial plants which bear biennial stems from a perennial root system. Unmanaged mature plants form a tangle of dense arching stems known as a bush or a bramble.