Who started the republican party?

The GOP was founded in 1854 by opponents of the Kansas–Nebraska Act, which allowed for the potential expansion of slavery into the western territories. Party supported classical liberalism, opposed expansion of slavery & supported economic reform. Abraham Lincoln was the first Republican president.