What's the difference between a golf and a sea?

The main difference between gulfs and seas is one of size where gulfs tend to be smaller and form parts of seas or oceans. Also, while seas can be landlocked and isolated from other bodies of water, gulfs are always connected to a larger body of water by a strait.