What is a c. h. i. m. e. r. a.?

(1) In Greek mythology, a fire-breathing female monster with a lion's head, goat's body and serpent's tail, or (2) a thing that is hoped for but isn't achievable or (3) a genetic mutation that causes two distinct genomes to appear in one organism.