How do you know if you have rsvp?

R S V P is an abbreviation of the French phrase respondez s'il vous plait. The literal English translation is respond if you please, but more commonly the phrase used in English is please respond. For example, if you receive an invitation and R S V P is written on it, you are being asked to reply.