Why are rats not mice?

Rats are larger and heavier while mice have smaller slender bodies. Mice also have long slender tails (for their body size) covered in hair compared to rat tails which are shorter, thicker and hairless.

---

Mice have smaller heads and larger ears and eyes relative to the head compared with rats. Both are rodents but they have many genetic differences. Mice are also smaller than rats, and their fur is different colors than rats.