Why is aces and eights a dead man's hand?

The dead man's hand is a term used in poker for 2 pair of black aces and black eights, although its meaning has changed over time. The story goes that lawman and gambler “Wild Bill” Hickok was shot while holding the dead man's hand, which is why it's considered an unlucky two pair in poker today