Why do space heaters melt outlets?

Sometimes outlets are overburdened with appliances, loaded power strips, etc., and the demand is beyond what the electrical wiring was designed to carry. When this happens, the wiring will become hot and possibly ignite or melt anything that comes into contact with it, including the plastic outlet.