Is gant a word?

Yes, "gant," spelled G-A-N-T, is an actual English word. In the Scottish dialect, it's a synonym for "yawn." In some other dialects, it's a form of the word "gaunt," spelled G-A-U-N-T, and can be used as a verb meaning to make thin by underfeeding.