How do you unfreeze a turkey?

The safest way to defrost a turkey before cooking is to let it sit, well wrapped, in the refrigerator. A frozen turkey takes 24 hours per 5 pounds of meat to thaw in the refrigerator. For example, a 10 pound turkey will thaw in about two days.