What does the initials a. d. stand for?

A.D. is the Latin abbreviation for Anno Domini, which means 'in the year of our Lord,' or, more fully, anno domini nostri Jesu Christi 'the year of our Lord Jesus Christ.'. A.D. is used with dates in the current era, which is considered the era since the birth of Christ.