What is human immuno deficiency virus?

The human immunodeficiency viruses are two species of Lentivirus that infect humans. Over time, they cause acquired immunodeficiency syndrome, or AIDS, a condition in which progressive failure of the immune system allows life-threatening opportunistic infections and cancers to thrive.