When did the soviet union separate?

On Dec. 25, 1991, the Soviet hammer and sickle flag lowered for the last time over the Kremlin, thereafter replaced by the Russian tricolor. Earlier in the day, Mikhail Gorbachev resigned his post as president of the USSR, leaving Boris Yeltsin as president of the newly independent Russian state