Who invented mats?

The first recorded use of plaited rush floor mats was in Mesopotamia about 6,000 years ago. Archaeologists throughout the world have found mats near fire pits at hundreds of excavation sites. In biblical times, people who weren't rich lived in houses with floors made of Earth.