Why are there bubbles in champaign?

After a base wine is made, additional yeast and sugar is added. Carbon dioxide is released as the yeast processes the sugar. Since this occurs inside a closed bottle, the gas has nowhere to go and is dissolved into the wine. It is released when the champaign is uncorked.