Is ale a grain?

Ale is a beer variety with bold hop flavors and distinct bitterness. Liquid ale is not considered a grain, but a malt grain is included as one of its ingredients. Barley is the most common malted grain, though wheat, rye, oats, rice, and corn are also used.