Is there such thing as chicken pox?

Chickenpox is a highly contagious disease characterized by an itchy, blister-like, rash on the skin that is sometimes fatal. It is caused by the varicella zoster virus. A varicella vaccine was introduced in 1995, significantly reducing cases of Chicken Pox.