What are the top five most populated cities in the world?

The list changes over the years, and the definition varies regarding city limits versus conurbation limits, but as of 2021, the top five are Tokyo, Delhi, Seoul, Shanghai, and São Paulo, ranging from roughly 40 million people down to about 20 million.