Which way should a fan turn in the winter?

In the winter, ceiling fans should rotate clockwise at a low speed to pull cool air up. The gentle updraft pushes warm air, which naturally rises to the ceiling, down along the walls and back the floor.

---

Ceiling fan direction in winter should be clockwise at the lowest speed. This pulls cool air up toward the ceiling, which in turn displaces the warm air that rises and collects near the ceiling. The warmer air disperses down toward the floor and along the walls to make the room feel warmer.