How do you crush fennel seeds?

To crush fennel seeds use either mortar and pestle, a small, heavy-duty pot, or a chef’s knife. With a pot or knife press the bottom edge of the pot or flat side of a knife into the seeds, slowly moving back and forth over the seeds to crush them.