What is sheep meat called?

"Sheep meat" can be "lamb" or "mutton"; think of the difference between an ingenue and a spinster. Lamb is young, tender, delicate, and found in American grocery stores. Mutton is from a 1-3 yr. old sheep and is gamey, fattier, needs more cooking time and is eaten in Europe and the Middle East.