What is bye-bye miss american pie about?

The Song American Pie by Don McLean is a tribute to Buddy Holly who died in a plane crash on February 3rd 1959 alongside Richie Valens and The Big Bopper JP Richardson. Recorded on May 26th 1971 the song is an allegory of the changing political cultural and musical landscape in the following decade.