Where do flute fruit flies come from?

Fruit fly eggs are most commonly found embedded in the meat of decaying organic matter or on the surface of overripe fruits. When a fruit starts to go bad it ferments, and attracts fruit flies. They gobble up the fruit, and in the process, lay hundreds of eggs that hatch into larvae in mere hours.