How do people make m. and m. dots?

DOTS are starch jelly candies, meaning they're created from sugar syrup that's been pumped into cornstarch molds. Because the starch jelly process is used over gelatin to help the candy retain its shape, DOTS are considered a vegan candy (they're also labeled as kosher).