What happened in yorktown?

The outcome in Yorktown, Virginia marked the conclusion of the last major battle of the American Revolution and the start of a new nation's independence. It also cemented Washington's reputation as a great leader and eventual election as first president of the United States.

---

Yorktown Virginia, was established in 1691, and was a thriving tobacco port by 1750. In 1781, it became the site of the last major battle of the Revolutionary War, when British general Charles Cornwallis established a naval base there, which was then besieged by American and French forces.