What is the i. m. d. b. rating system?

The IMDb (International Movie Database) offers a rating scale that allows users to rate films on a scale of one to ten. It has been alleged that the rating system is flawed, for several reasons since the ratings can be exaggerated one way or the other by fans and critics of films..