Is whale vomit used in perfume?

Throughout history, perfumeries have used whale vomit, which is also known as ambergris, as a binding agent.

---

Ambergris is sometimes used in perfume. It is inaccurately called whale vomit but is a substance that is found in the stomachs of sperm whales.