What's the difference between gumbo and jambalaya?

Gumbo is a thick stew that is served with rice, separately -- and Jambalaya is a stew that is cooked with rice. Both of these dishes can have the same ingredients, spices, and vegetables - but you'll easily see the difference because of the rice.