How long do you cook a whole sweet potato?

Wash it first. Pierce the skin with a knife in several places and place it in an oven dish. Roast at 375F for anywhere from 1/2 hour to 1 hour, or until it's soft enough to pierce with a fork easily. You can also add butter to the potato and some cinnamon if you like.