When were prophylactics invented?

The prophylactic has been traced to King Minos of Crete in about 3000 B.C. He used a goat bladder to protect women from disease. The product is named for a Dr. Condom, physician to King Charles II, who prescribed a sheath of lamb intestine. Charles Goodyear developed rubber condoms in the mid-1800s.