What did the five civilized tribes do?

The Five Civilized Tribes consist of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole Indian Tribes. commonly referred to as the Five Civilized Tribes. These tribes had Freedmen who were former African American slaves of tribal members or descendants of former slaves living among them.