What was the most deadliest earthquake?

The most powerful quake was the 9.5-magnitude Valdivia Earthquake that struck in Chile in 1960, according to the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). That quake created a tsunami, which together with the earthquake killed an estimated 5,700 people.