How do you cook raw cranberries?

If you're making cranberry sauce, place a bag of berries in a liquid of 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup orange juice. Add 3/4 cup brown sugar. Bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for about 10 minutes. Berries will begin to burst. Remove from heat, cool, and add zest from one orange, if desired.