What is red red wine?

"red red wine" is a song written and performed by Neil Diamond in 1967. It is part of his second album labeled "Just for You". The song tells the story of a man who finds that drinking Red Wine helps him forget his problems. It was rereleased in 1988 and went to No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100.