What was the selma march?

The Selma to Montgomery marches were three protest marches in 1965, along the 54-mile highway from Selma, Alabama to the state capital of Montgomery. The marches were organized by nonviolent activists to illustrate the desire of AfricanAmerican citizens to exercise their constitutional right to vote