Do chinchillas make good pets?

Domestic chinchillas can be kept as pets. Because of their high-strung disposition, they are not usually considered to be good pets for small children. However, chinchillas can be very friendly, if sufficiently acclimated to human touch as kits (babies) making them excellent pets for patient owners.