How many chromosomes are there?

In humans, each cell normally contains 23 pairs of chromosomes, for a total of 46. Twenty-two of these pairs, called autosomes, look the same in both males and females. The 23rd pair differs between males and females. Females have two X chromosomes, while males have one X and one Y chromosome.