What does a narwhal use it's tusk for?

A new study suggests the true evolutionary purpose of these horns -- which can be 8-feet-long -- has to do with sex: The tusks, the research found, are used by male narwhals to compete for and attract mates, a bit like a peacock's ostentatious feathers or an elk's elaborate antlers.