Does fiction mean true or not true?

Fiction means not true. It describes imaginary events and (or) people.

---

Technically, fiction is not true, though that is arguably an exaggeration. Good fiction has been described as "the lie that tells the truth" -- that is, while the people and events are a product of the author's imagination, there is usually a message at its core that applies to real life.