Why did the u. s. go to war in afghanistan?

The u.s. went to war in Afghanistan to hunt down Osama Bin Laden and his militant organization, Al Queda. Al Queda had carried out a number of attacks against u.s. assets and were blamed for the 9.1.1. world trade center attacks; Al Queda were guests of the Taliban, the ruling entity in Afghanistan