What is a mazeppa?

Mazeppa is a surname. Mazeppa was the title of a poem written by Lord Byron in 1819. The poem was inspired by the historical figure Ivan Mezpa, also known as Hetman of Ukraine. The poem was an influential piece of literature during the Romantic Period in Europe.